Website Manager

News Detail


Dec, 2020

A Brief History of North Park Little League

By Joe Schloss

The first President was Coach Dwayne Maley from San Diego High School. He formed a committee to begin the program. One of the original members, as the Player Agent was Bill Whittaker. Also on the committee were Chester Denzin, Mary Nettles, Garnet Ramsey and Joe Schloss.

We started using Coach Mike Morrow’s field at Morley. He was then a coach at USD. At one time we were called “Balboa Park Little League” then we merged with the Mike Morrow Little League. Eventually we returned to the name North Park Little League and that is how it has remained.

A few of the players who became Major League players are: John D’Acquisto, Jerry DaVanon, Gregg Nettles, Jim Nettles, and Bob Cluck.

We have had many outstanding Presidents who have directed the League. A couple of highlights of our league were two teams, one in 1994, and one in 1995 who went to the Divisional Playoffs. This was a highlight for District 33 and a record that North Park still holds.

Let me say that I continue to manage a little league team after 54 years because it has been a terrific experience, shared by me and all the other coaches and players and Board Members and the parents who support us. I applaud you for what you have brought and continue to bring to North Park Little League.

Our five fields have been recognized and named after Ted Williams, Danny Milsap, Joe Schloss, Bill Whittaker, and John Perretta.

Local Sponsors

Copyright © 2023 North Park Little League  |  Privacy Statement |  Terms Of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Login